Skip to main content
Student Login  Live Chat 

Insurance Headline

Florida

Defensive Driving Course

  • Approved by the FL DHSMV
  • Reduce points and lower your insurance premiums
  • Only provider to offer a free certificate available immediately after completion
  • Free audio and narration
Safety Serve Course

Defensive
Driving Course

$29.95

No Hidden Fees

Purchase Course Preview Course

If you are insured by GEICO or Amica, please click here for additional information.
 
4-Hour BDI: ELECTED - Point Reduction Take this course if you have received a citation and have elected traffic school to avoid points and insurance penalties requiring you to attend a TCAC/BDI course.

4-Hour BDI: COURT ORDER - Driver Improvement (BDI) Take this course if you have received a citation and have been ordered by the court to take the 4-hour BDI (traffic school) class.

4-Hour BDI: INSURANCE DISCOUNT Take this course if you have not received a ticket but your insurance agent has confirmed you are eligible to receive a discount on your policy by taking this 4-hour course.

4-Hour BDI: TCAC - Traffic Collision Avoidance Course (TCAC) Take this course if you have received a letter from the DHSMV requiring you to take a TCAC or BDI course, or if you were involved in a certain type of crash.

Please click here to take the NSC Defensive Driving Course for any other reason including Pilot/Escort purposes. (Note: Florida Pilot/Escort Drivers must take the DDC 10th edition, NOT the Florida State course. When the course is completed, be sure to request the mailed certificate. The weigh stations will pull you over if you do not have the proper certificate.)

Compare Pricing With Our Competitors:

ProviderFeeAudioState Fees+ ProcessingSame Day CertificateTotal
Driver Training Associates, Inc$7.95Included$17.00$9.95$34.90
I Drive Safely (Video course) $17.49Included$7.95$10.95$36.39
U-Drive Safe$24.95IncludedIncluded$16.95$41.90
National Safety Council$29.95IncludedIncludedIncluded+
Available Immediately
$29.95


 

Defensive Driving Course Outline:

What is in it for me?

  • Identify risky driving attitudes and behaviors
  • The difference between good driving and defensive driving
  • What it means to be a defensive driver
  • Preventable collisions
  • Three basic steps in collision avoidance: Collision Prevention Formula
  • Recognizing driving hazards

Making choices you can live with.

  • Identify driver conditions that result in collisions and violations
  • The effects of drugs on driving ability
  • Why drivers choose safe and unsafe behaviors
  • The effects of impaired physical and mental conditions on driving safety
  • Techniques used to maintain control in adverse driving conditions

What you do is what you get.

  • Six most common driving errors
  • Reasons drivers choose to speed
  • Alternatives to speeding
  • How to approach and safely proceed through all intersections
  • Identify hazards involved in passing
  • How to evaluate a potential passing situation
  • Three steps needed to complete a safe pass

The conditions that drive us.

  • Recognize uncontrollable driving conditions
  • Identify hazards associated with those conditions in time to avoid them
  • List driving maneuvers to help maintain control for each uncontrollable driving condition

Florida Traffic Laws

  • Recognize the legal consequences for repeated DUI offenses
  • Identify the actions that can lead to suspending, revoking or canceling a driver’s license
  • Florida requirements for safety belt and child safety seat usage
  • Understand Florida’s requirements for vehicle lights
  • Recognize areas of roadways where special speed limits apply
  • Identify the actions that must be taken around school buses
  • Understand the Florida ‘Move Over Act’
  • Proper licensing and procedures under Florida statues for motorcyclists
  • Identify and properly interpret signs, signals and road markings

What are you willing to do?

  • The benefits of using occupant restraints and child safety seats
  • Defensive driving strategies to avoid a collision in any given driving situation
  • Identify personal behaviors and decisions and the effects on future driving situations
 

Certificate Process

Upon successful completion of the course a Certificate of Completion from the National Safety Council will be available to print immediately. Please sign and submit to the clerk of the court or other authority per your individual directions. In Florida students generally take the Florida BDI for four purposes and submit to the court, the county where the citation was received, the DHSMV or the Insurance Provider.

BDI—TCAC, Traffic Collision Avoidance Course: Submit to Court or DHSMV
BDI—Elected, Point Reduction: Submit to Court
BDI—Court Ordered: Submit to Court
BDI—Insurance Discount: Provide copy to Insurance Provider.


In cases of TCAC or Point Reduction, the completion information will be submitted automatically to the Florida DHSMV immediately upon your successful completion. Please allow approximately 48 hours for your completion to be annotated on your driver record by DHSMV. The student should determine the court or authority and the preferred manner in which your completion is to be reported and respond within the designated timeframe.
Purchase Course Preview Course